Applewood Sanitation District
 District Office Number: 303-232-6883
After-Hours Emergency Number: 303-475-5493
Mailing: P.O. Box 1109 Golden, CO 80402

About Us

The Applewood Sanitation District provides sanitary sewer services to approximately 998 homes west of I-70 and 11 commercial buildings (the equivalent of 1067 residential units) in unincorporated Jefferson County (see boundary map here under Important Documents). The Applewood Sanitation District is a non-profit governmental Colorado Special District that was formed in 1958 to serve the developing neighborhood. The construction of I-70 separated the area from the City of Wheat Ridge and the City of Lakewood in 1964.

The District maintains over 17 miles of sewer pipeline, 396 manholes, and is responsible for transporting wastewater to the Metro Wastewater Reclamation District system. The Metro Wastewater Reclamation District  provides the treatment of the sewage that is created by District customers, and is the wastewater treatment authority for much of metropolitan Denver and parts of northern Colorado. The Metro Wastewater Reclamation District treats the sanitary sewer flows at the Robert W. Hite Treatment Facility.


The District is governed by an elected five person Board of Directors. The Board is responsible for: overseeing sanitary sewer operation and maintenance, managing service fees and taxes, and adopting Rules and Regulations governing the use of the District’s system. The Board meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 5:30 pm and are held at the district office at 4885 Ward Road, Suite 100, Wheat Ridge, Colorado. See meeting information here.

Board of Directors

President:       Briana Gerou 
Term Expires: May 2027      
Treasurer: Garrett "Cody" Berg Term Expires: May 2027
Secretary: Kevin Schmidt Term Expires: May 2025
Asst. Secretary:  Barbara Panian Term Expires: May 2025
Director: Vacant Term Expires: May 2025

Briana Gerou